lecture-cising

Just think, treadmills in the lecture hall.

TERRI KRIVOSHA, a partner at a Minneapolis law firm, logs three miles each workday on a treadmill without leaving her desk. She finds it easier to exercise while she types than to attend aerobics classes at the crack of dawn.

It would be sooo time efficient.

Brad Rhoads, a computer programmer and missionary in Princeton, Ill., faces a computer monitor on a file cabinet and gets in about five miles a day on a treadmill while working in his home office.

“After a while, your legs do get kind of tired,” said Mr. Rhoads, 40, who started exercising in March, when doctors advised him to lose weight after open-heart surgery.

Okay so your legs get tired, but I guarantee I would stop falling asleep in class.

Ms. Krivosha and Mr. Rhoads are part of a small but growing group of desk jockeys who were inspired by Dr. James Levine an endocrinologist at the Mayo Clinic. In 2005, Dr. Levine led a study showing that lean people burn about 350 more calories a day than those who are overweight, by doing ordinary things like fidgeting, pacing or walking to the copier.

It does sound a bit ridiculous. But I would go to class WAY more often.

The downside, I’d probably have to give up my drinking-coffee-during-class ritual. And I tend to be a bit clumsy. All that multi-tasking might have me flying off the back end of the treadmill at full speed.

I Put in 5 miles at the Office, New York Times

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “lecture-cising

  1. drfrenchfry

    I know. I want one in front of my TV. Do you like the animated exercising brain?

  2. What I want to know is how these people smell after a few hours of working up a crotch sweat in their khakis. I’m quite sure my cubicle mates would not be happy.

Leave a Reply

