sex week in a nutshell

It’s hard to keep up.  Every time I sit down to write something, the evil med student part of my brain takes over. “Path! Pharm! Oh my god, the kidney has focal segmental glomerulosclerosis! You don’t even know what that is!”

So anyway, you want to hear about Sex Week.

A few days after Sex Week I had an appointment with my shrink, he graduated from my school.  He looked at the date and said, “Oh, mid-January… you must have just finished Sex Week.  Did you see the guy decked out from head to toe in Latex?”  Um, no.  A few weeks later one of my professors, another alum of my school, asked us about sex week, “Oh I remember Sex Week.  Did you guys have the guy with the Latex fetish? He was interesting, and by interesting you do realize that I mean he was completely insane.”

Briefly, my take on the purpose of Sex Week:  1) to expose us to many different choices and lifestyles; 2) to encourage us not to force our own backgrounds and values onto others; and 3) to shock the hell out of us so when a patient comes in with an eggplant stuck in his or her hoo-ha we don’t start giggling like a ten year old.

A few things I learned along the way:

-the purpose of an anal plug is not to keep things in.

-ejaculate moves at 28 miles per hour

-a Roman shower is not what you think it is.

-in some cultures men greet each other with a friendly shake of the penis.

The other point of Sex Week was to have us learn how to do the pelvic and digital rectal exam on standardized patients.  Last year at this time I overheard some of the second years sharing their experiences in the library.  When one of the kids mentioned the woman he did the pelvic exam on was the same standardized patient they had the week before for GI physical diagnosis, my jaw dropped.  Did I just mishear something?  Later that day I ran this by a friend.  Turns out my hearing is a-okay.  Over dinner I mentioned this to my mom.  I think she was horrified, and she simply did not believe me.  I must be all mixed up.

I was not all mixed up.  We do pelvic and rectal and full-blown genitalia exams on our standardized patients.  Six of us in a group, one after another.  It’s just us and the patients, and they are the teachers.  One day I will post on the details, but fow now all I can say is that it was a valuable but completely bizarre educational experience.  The only regret I have is that I did not get to meet the Latex Man.

3 Comments

Filed under med school, medical student

3 responses to “sex week in a nutshell

  1. Mike

    “Last year at this time I overheard some of the second years sharing their experiences in the library. When one of the kids mentioned the woman he did the pelvic exam on was the same standardized patient they had the week before for GI physical diagnosis, my jaw dropped. ”

    I don’t get it. So what? The exams are a week apart.

    • drfrenchfry

      No, I was shocked I would be sticking a speculum in the vagina of a woman who has been my standardized patient throughout the two years of school. It just changes the relationship a bit.

  2. Pingback: update «

Leave a Reply

