kickin’ it

Just about four months in, and I still get a kick out of being called Doctor.

Thus far I’ve spent 2 months in the ED, a month in the MICU, and am now finishing up my month on OB.  All four months have been utterly exhausting. But I can’t believe how much I’ve changed in such a short amount of time.  You really only realize it when you compare yourself to the med-students.  Once every few days, for survival purposes, it’s necessary to listen to them present on rounds and realize that you are not the total asshole that everyone else makes you feel like. You’ve actually come a long way. God I love med students, especially the third years.

Intern year sucks and there is no way around it.  Sometimes I wonder how anyone makes it through, and then I realize that everyone makes it through.  It’s a year of being perpetually tired, shit-on, abused, uncomfortable, and anxious.  That being said, I’m at an amazing program, working with awesome people, and I see  fascinating/hilarious/upsetting stuff on a daily basis.  As much as it sucks, and as much as I complain, I really do love what I do. I love what I’m learning, I love my crazy-ass patient population, I appreciate the strange group of people that are drawn to emergency medicine in one form or another, and I most of the time love the raw emotion that I get to be a part of every single day.

Leave a comment

Filed under emergency medicine, intern year, medical student

Leave a Reply

